## **EPPING FOREST & COMMONS COMMITTEE**

## 1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of,

- two Aldermen nominated by the Court of Aldermen
- 8 Members elected by the Court of Common Council at least one of whom shall have fewer than five years' service on the Court at the time of their appointment
- the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Open Spaces & City Gardens Committee (ex-officio)
- plus, for the consideration of business relating to Epping Forest only, four Verderers elected or appointed pursuant to the Epping Forest Act 1878.

## 2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any five Members.

## 3. Terms of Reference

- (a) To be responsible, having regard to the overall policy laid down by the Open Spaces & City Gardens Committee, for:-
- (b) exercising of the powers and duties of the Court of Common Council as Conservators of Epping Forest (registered charity no. 232990) and the various additional lands which have been acquired to protect the Forest in accordance, where appropriate, with the Epping Forest Acts 1878 and 1880 (as amended) and all other relevant legislation.
- (c) the ownership and management of the following open spaces in accordance with the provisions of the Corporation of London Open Spaces Act 1878:-

Coulsdon and other Commons (registered charity no. 232989), the other Commons being Kenley Common, Farthing Downs and Riddlesdown

West Wickham Common and Spring Park (registered charity no. 232988)

Ashtead Common (registered charity no. 1051510)

Burnham Beeches and Stoke Common (registered charity no. 232987)

(d) appointing such Consultative Committees as are considered necessary for the better performance of its duties including:

Ashtead Common Consultative Committee

**Burnham Beeches Consultative Committee** 

Coulsdon Commons Consultative Committee

**Epping Forest Centre Joint Consultative Committee** 

West Wickham Commons Consultative Committee